Saturday, August 6, 2011

L.A. Candy Book Series

Going to post some of my reviews from now on :)

The L.A. Candy series is a collection of young adult books, consisting of three novels – L.A. Candy, Sweet Little Lies, and Sugar and Spice – written by Lauren Conrad. Yes, you read that right; Lauren Conrad. The reality television star has now taken her latest career venture in becoming a first-time author. Much to everyone’s surprise, the book series has done extremely well, with the first two instalments of the trilogy reaching the number one spot on the New York Times’ Bestseller List. The novels tell the story of sweet and innocent Jane, who moves to Los Angeles with her best friend to intern for a high profile event planning agency. One night at a club, the girls are approached by an up-and-coming producer looking to sign them on for a reality TV series, and when they say yes, the drama begins. The trilogy chronicles two seasons of the show, and all the gossip, fighting, and excitement that comes along with celebrity status. The L.A. Candy series is just like Jane’s personality – charming and sweet, but utterly predictable. Sure, there’s a plot twist here or there, a couple intensely heated confrontations, and even some cute romantic gestures, but as I flipped the final page and closed the cover of L.A. Candy, I was left wanting more. If you’re looking for a simple and light read, L.A. Candy has got you covered, but if you want something with a little more depth, I’d try a novel not quite as sugar-coated. 

No comments:

Post a Comment